Community Response letter in support of Islamic Center

'Community Response' to Islamic Center threat


On Monday, November 28, 2016, it was reported that The Islamic Center of Savannah received horrible, hateful threats over the weekend.

This is NOT okay. This is not who we are and it is unacceptable. We should never tolerate or excuse these actions, especially in our diverse community.

Say this again and again. Say it loud. Say it every time you can. Do not let hate be normalized. Amplify the voices of those who do not tolerate hate, discrimination, threats. Amplify those who say no to cowardice. No to racism. No to hate.

Say yes to standing beside your neighbor.

Say yes to choosing love over hate.

Say yes to disrupting and ending this type of behavior.

Stand by your neighbor. The people of the Islamic Center of Savannah are our family —and no one hurts our family.

We are the beloved community. An attack on one of us is an attack on all of us.

Emergent Savannah

A full list of signatories follows:.

Fred Nadelman

Jane and Bill Hoffman

AL Addington

Amy Schindler

Karen Abato, ATR-BC, LCAT

Ylana Abbott, Solidarity in Savannah

Ibrahim Abdul-Malik

Dr. Danielle Alexander

Mary Alpern

The Reverend Guillermo Arboleda, St. Matthews Church

Nicole Baker

Kyle Ballantine and John Pollock

Mike Banta, Chatham County Democratic Committee

Latasha Barnes, Save Our Youth

Kelley and Patrick Best

Sam Beetler II

Rev. Eric Beene

Kelly Blackmarr Carlile

Pastor Andy Blair, Tapestry Church

Raine Blunk & Greg Hornak, QuoLab

Charles Breazeale, Armstrong State GSA Vice President

Rabbi Rachael Bregman, Temple Beth Tefilloh

Tia Brightwell, Kayton-Frazier Resident Advocate

Bridget L. Browne

Eric Brown

Janet Buelow, Armstrong State University professor

Jennifer T. Graham, Shelter From the Rain Inc. Betsy Bull, Emergent Savannah

Jolene Byrne, President, Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools

Mehmet Caglayan - Blue Voyage Productions

John Cary

Jim Casey

Miriam Center, Daughters of Destiny

Melanie Chaffin-Poeling

The Reverend Michael Chaney, St. Paul's Episcopal Church

Ellen Cheng

Rev. Lauren Colwell, First Baptist Church Savannah

Lisa A. Costello, Professor

Deborah Crane - Progressive Activist, M.O.R.E

Jan Cunningham

Atom Davis

Phillip Davis, The Indigos

Adam Dean

Melissa DeLynn, Rev., Healer, Yogi, Business Owner

Leia Devine

Suzanne Donovan

Reverend Lynn A. Drake, Wesley Oak UMC

Dare Dukes, Executive Director, Deep Center

Rev. Jan Durham, Asbury Memorial United Methodist Church

Elizabeth L. Dykes, Savannah Friends Meeting

Steve, Kristy, and Luke Edenfield of Savannah

Susan Earl

Brooks Easterling

Emily Eisenhart,Center for Addiction Recovery

Rick Ellison, Issues, Chatham County Democratic Committee

Marisol Estrada, Savannah Undocumented Youth Alliance Louise Frazier, CCDC

Kathleen M. Fritz

SuAnne Fu, SCAD professor

Nancy Fullbright

Denise German

Kayla Goggin, Art Rise Savannah

Michael Granado, Savannah Technical College

Phoenix Godwin, Savannah Comrades

Rabbi Robert Haas, Congregation Mickve Israel

Michelle Haberland

Matt Haddock, IATSE Local 320

Margaret Hall

Dr. Jenni Halpin

The Reverend Candace Hardnett & Erika Hardnett, Agape Empowerment Ministries

Molly Hayden

Ginger Heidel

Rev. Billy Hester, Asbury Memorial United Methodist Church

Cheri Hester

Elizabeth Hodges

Danny and Melanie Holland

Amanda J. Hollowell

Corey Houlihan, Ink & Bones Clothing Co.

Chelsea Jackson-Greene

Dr. Otis Johnson, Former Mayor of Savannah

James M. Jackson

Joe Johnson

Megan Jones

Julie Jordan

Rev. Susan Karlson and Alan Kindler

Michelle Kelly

Joan and Larry Dane-Kellogg

K. J. Kenner

Christina Ketron

Tricia Kilgore

Rob Kilgore

Trent Kissinger, teacher

Jeff Kirk

Carrie Lee Kitchen Tom Kohler

Shauna Kucera

James D. Lacoss

Jessica L. Lacoss

Antwan Lang, Southeast Regional Director for Young Democrats of Georgia

Melissa Laurents Smith

Kevin Lawver

Jessica Leigh Lebos

Mark Lebos, Strong Gym

Reverend Marilyn Leigh

Molly G. Lieberman, Loop It Up Savannah

Danielle Lilly, Chatham County Democratic Committee

Rudd Long

Shelley Lowther, business owner

Joshua Lowther, attorney

Natasha Marciana, Fred Wessels Resident Advocate

Jessica Mathis

Joel and Kathy Matulys

St.Claire Mars

Dede Mays

Kate McAlpine

William G McFadden

Jenny McCord, Faye Montgomery, Erin Roma and Chelsey Beck, Voices for Schools

Rubi McGrory

Rev. David H. Messner, Unitarian Universalist Church of Savannah

Philly Meyers, Organize Savannah

Katherine Mills

Rev. Grady W. Mills, II, Asbury Memorial United Methodist Church

Kristopher Monroe, SMN Columnist, Historic Sites and Monuments Commission member

Rev. Alex T Moreschi, St. Thomas Episcopal Church & Common Grounds Savannah

Joanne Morton, Massive Events / Well FED Savannah

Nathan Mullins, Savannah State University instructor

The Rev. Deacon Geri Lee Nelson, St. Thomas Episcopal Church

Panhandle Slim

Courtnay Papy, Emergent Savannah

Aj Perez, Sulfur Studios

Cynthia Perkins, Lines on Paper ~ By Cynthia

Monica Phillips

Amy E. Potter

Abby Powell

Caroline Pritchard

Jane V. Rago

Stephanie Raines

JinHi Soucy Rand, Muse Arts Warehouse

Emily Randall

Katharine Rapkin

Allan Ratner, President, Savannah Jewish Federation

Elizabeth Rhaney

Tricia Richardson, Mixed Greens

Emily Richardson-Dion

Bill & Donne Rolfes

Amy Rolnick

Domenick and Erin Roma

Savannah Working Against Human Trafficking

Judy Saucerman

Delores R. Saxman

Helen D. Schandolph

Rachel Schwartz, Professor

Alicia Scott, Introspect Consulting Group

George Seaborough, President, Twickenham Neighborhood Association

Julie Shell

Yolandra G. Shipp, Academic Girls Empowering for Success

Cathy Skidmore-Hess

Daniel Skidmore-Hess

Marilyn Smith

Michelle Solomon

Chris Soucy

Alys Spillman

The Reverend Kelly Steele, Columba House

Joe Steffen, attorney

Kate Strain

Albert Strickland, Occupy Savannah

Barb & Tom Stuck

Step Up Savannah

Meredith Swinford, social worker

Showing Up for Racial Justice-Savannah Chapter

Les Taylor

K Wendy Teran-Bercovitz

Sarah E. Todd, Democratic Party of Georgia, Vice Chair of Congressional District Chairs and County Committees

Jason Thomas, Coastal Atheists and Secular Humanists (CASH)

Teresa Thornton Davis

Curtis Tucker, NGO volunteer for Syrian refugees

Autumn Van Gunten, Socially Yours Group

The Reverend Kevin Veitinger, The Foundery

Danielle Hughes Rose

John Voner, Urban Savannah Chamber of Commerce Inc.

Leslie Walsh

Vicki Weeks

Jennifer C. West

Anne Allen Westbrook

Julie Wilde, Musician and Educator

Linda Wilder-Bryan LB4 & After Foundation Inc

Eli E Wilkerson

Judy Williams Jenny Woodruff and Luke Higgins

Rev. Dale Worley, Unity of Savannah

Rev. Patricia Youngquist

Cathy and Gordon Webb

Shannon Willhite

Barbara Zinn

Neha Zaer, Baha'i

Sara Breyfogle

Comments (3)

Add a comment

Add a Comment
  • or

Right Now On

Now Playing

By Film...

By Theater...