Parker Urban Band @Barrelhouse South


BLUES, soul, gospel, R&B, prog, and rock 'n’ roll collide in the Southern stylings of Parker Urban Band. With Myrna Stallworth’s huge, bone-shaking vocals at the helm, Barrelhouse South’s floor will be bouncing in the wake of the band’s melodies and grooves.

Stallworth, a Florida native, grew up in a family of gospel performers; with encouraging lyrics and a boundless voice akin to Aretha Franklin, she’s a mesmerizing frontwoman. Backed by Stevie Ray Vaughan-style guitar wailings, organ, danceable rhythms, and silky sax, a Parker Urban Band show is a party where all are sure to leave with a smile.

The band’s shared the stage with the likes of The Wailers, JJ Grey & Mofro, The Lee Boys, and Barrelhouse regulars like Zach Deputy, so if you’re into the Congress Street bar’s typical rock/soul/jam selections, you’ll definitely want to hit this show.

Thursday, March 10, 9 p.m., free, 21+

About The Author

Anna Chandler

Connect Savannah Former Arts & Entertainment Editor Anna Chandler started writing about music after growing hoarse from talking about it nonstop. Born in Tennessee and raised in South Carolina, she has been a proud Savannahian for 8 years. She sings & plays guitar & accordion in COEDS and Lovely Locks.
Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a Comment
  • Christmas Burlesque Cabaret

    @ House of Mata Hari

    Thu., Dec. 3, 11-11:59 p.m., Fri., Dec. 4, 11-11:59 p.m., Sat., Dec. 5, 9:30-10:30 & 11-11:59 p.m., Thu., Dec. 10, 11-11:59 p.m., Fri., Dec. 11, 11-11:59 p.m., Sat., Dec. 12, 9:30-10:30 & 11-11:59 p.m., Thu., Dec. 17, 11-11:59 p.m., Fri., Dec. 18, 11-11:59 p.m. and Sat., Dec. 19, 9:30-10:30 & 11-11:59 p.m.

  • or

Right Now On

Now Playing

By Film...

By Theater...